Who Are We?
The Productive Living Board for St. Louis County Citizens with Developmental Disabilities was established in 1979 when St. Louis County voters approved to tax themselves for the purpose of developing services and supports for residents with developmental disabilities. The PLB is a public taxing entity, commonly known as a "Senate Bill 40 Board" that enters into funding contracts with agencies that serve individuals with developmental disabilities in St. Louis County.


A nine member volunteer Board of Directors (known as the PLB) appointed by the St. Louis County Executive sets the financial and administrative framework for the agency and hires and directs the Executive Director to conduct the everyday operations of the agency. The Board delegates administrative responsibilities and accountability to the Executive Director, while maintaining a constant connection with the agency to assure that actions are within the framework of Board established policies and procedures.


The present tax is set at 8.8 cents per $100 assessed value and generates approximately $20 million annually. Each year, the PLB contracts with agencies that will provide services to approximately 4,500 individuals with developmental disabilities in St. Louis County.


Funded services include: community services, employment services (supported employment and sheltered workshops), advocacy services, family support, transitional programs, adaptive equipment, recreation and transportation.


In December 2015, PLB began a partnership with Missouri Department of Mental Health, Division of Developmental Disabilities in a new county-based waiver program call Partnership for Hope.


Section 205.970, RsMO (Revised Statues of the State of Missouri)


Appointing Authority
Board members are appointed by the County Executive of St. Louis County with the approval of the County Council.


Composition and Qualifications
The Board shall consist of nine (9) members of whom two shall be related by blood or marriage within the third degree to an individual with a developmental disability as defined in section 205.968, RsMO. Four members shall be public members. At least seven of the Board Members shall be residents of St. Louis County. All Board Members shall be appointed to serve a term of three years.


In fiscal year 2016, the Board contracted with 35 different agencies that provided services to individuals with developmental disabilities.


Meetings are typically held the second Monday of each month, except there are no regularly scheduled meetings in August, October and December. Meetings are usually held at the St. Louis County Library Headquarters, 1640 South Lindbergh, St. Louis, MO, 63131 at 4:00 p.m.


For a list of all upcoming meetings, click here.